Steak Day

Yum. 

But due to the nature of the beast, while on the HCG Maintenance Phase, consuming that delectable slab of meat is preceded by the unwelcome discovery that you’ve gained over 2 lbs. since your last HCG drops weigh-in.  And that is never a fun discovery.  But it is fixable as long as you have the guts to weigh every morning

steak

What is a Steak Day

A Steak Day is simply to drink lots of water throughout the day then for dinner consume a large steak along with an apple or a tomato. 

I know that part of the science behind it is that the protein helps your body release excess fluids, but for me I have also found a healthy mental aspect to it as well.  It reminds me that I am in control of my body and not the other way around.

Often times I can get a little carried away with snacking, I allow myself to give into temptation and become very self indulgent with my wants vs. my needs.  This inevitably leads to the need for a steak day.  Steak days have a balancing effect on me; making me overcome that ever present ‘natural man’ and it puts me back in control over my eating, which is a vital place to be!

After my steak day I lose 2 lbs. and go back to eating normal (minus the unhealthy snacking). 

What about a Double Steak Day

I’m embarrassed to admit that sometimes the damage I do in one day cannot be undone in one day.  Meaning that even after losing 2 lbs. I still have one or two more lbs. to go in order to reach my last HCG drops weight. I’ve never read about doubling up on steak days, and I am in no way giving medical advice here, I am simply sharing my own experience of what I have found works.

I double up.

I know that some people, for health reasons, cannot go long without consuming calories.  I am not one of those people.  I also know other people who feel really crappy on their steak days.  They lose energy and feeling fatigued.  Fortunately, I am not one of those people either.  I feel great most of the time, have energy even in the middle of my steak days, and feel satisfied afterwards.  Heck, I like steak.  So when I realized that I still needed to drop another pound after having just participated in a steak day, I boldly did another one the next day.

It worked.  Preferably, I never want to be in such a position of losing such control over myself that I overindulge to such an extent, but the truth is that sometimes I do exactly that and I have been grateful for the effectiveness of ‘steak days’.

Good luck!  Has anyone else experienced this?

This entry was posted in Food, HCG, maintenance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

